As you and your team post in Fieldlens, adding a location will make your posts easier to organize and for others to find issues on the jobsite.

Here’s an example for you: There's some cracked concrete in a large apartment building. You take pictures and add a note, great, but where is it? Add the correct location to the post, and the responsible party will find and correct it faster. 

In Fieldlens, locations can be specified down to four levels. For instance:

  • Fourth Floor --> East Wing --> Room 401 --> Bedroom
  • Fourth Floor --> East Wing --> Room 401 --> Living Room
  • Fourth Floor --> East Wing --> Room 402 --> ...
  • Fourth Floor --> West Wing --> …
  • Fifth Floor → ...

Once created, your locations can also be assigned to project drawings - so if you add a pin to that drawing, the location will automatically be added to your post as well.

Location setup 

You can add locations easily from the Project Settings page on the web app. Simply type the location name and hit Save. You can then add more primary locations or start adding sublocations within this primary level.
Note: Only a Project Organizer can set up and manage locations from the Location management page.

Autodesk Revit Plug In 

If your company is using Autodesk Revit, Fieldlens will allow you to import project locations directly from the Revit model. 

Simply download and install the plugin from the Location Management page. 

Within Revit you’ll then see a Fieldlens tab; from here you’ll be able to select which project to sync and follow a few guided steps.

CSV Download and Upload

Fieldlens also allows you to upload a CSV file of your locations. 

  1. You’ll need to download the provided template—any locations you’ve already created in Fieldlens will download within the template; if none have been created yet, the template will contain a few samples to show you how to enter your own. 
  2. Update the file with your desired locations, including sublocations.
  3. Final step: upload back into Fieldlens!

Manage project locations

It's easy to rename, duplicate, move or deactivate a location when you need to. Simply select the wrench icon to the left of the location name within the Location Management page to access your options.

  • Rename location – Changing the location name will update it for all existing and future posts.
  • Duplicate location – This will duplicate a location and all its sublocations. This will speed up creating locations as you can then just rename where necessary.
  • Move location – Select a second, third or fourth-level location to move it - and its sublocations - to another primary location. All existing posts for this location will be automatically updated to reflect the adjustment.
  • Deactivate location – This will remove the location from the list of available locations when users are posting. Posts that have already been created will keep the deactivated location unless the poster relocates them.

 Locking locations

We recommend setting up locations when the project is just getting started. While it is possible to create them as you go, it’s best if everyone starts out with a set location list. Project organizers can lock locations from further changes by other users - making sure everyone is on the same page.

Importing Locations from another project

If you do a lot of similar work such as chain store build outs, you might have a lot of projects with the same or similar location set. Once you’ve created them in one project, it’s easy to import them into your subsequent projects. 

  1. When creating a new project, select “Import data from another project.”
  2. From the drop down, choose the project you want to import locations from.
  3. Check the box next to Locations - you’ll also have the option to import the People and Categories from the same project.
  4. Click Create to finish.

Did this answer your question?